? ? Opposition Report: Dublin 3rds

by louthandproud on January 25, 2017

in County

Everyone is well aware that will not be real Dublin

Screen Shot 2017-01-23 at 16.01.26

but knock off Dublin is not bad at all. Here’s why.

Roll of honour

Looking that the sides that Dublin have put out in the last four O’Byrne cup games.

It is far from weak.

It is basically made up of All-Ireland winners at Minor in 2012 and U21 in 2014.

Just look and see how formidable a squad we are facing.
GK Evan Comerford:
2. Jack Smith: U21 AI
3. Eoin O’Brien:
4. Ross McGowan: U21 & Minor
5. Niall Scully: U21 & Minor,
6. Ciaran Reddin: Senior
7. Robbie Gaughan:  Minor
8. Jason Whelan: Senior
9. Conor Mullally: U21  & Minor
10. Ross Hazley: nephew of Ray
11. Shane Boland: U21
12. Niall Walsh: U21  & Minor
13. Paul Hudson: U21
14. Michael Deegan: Minor
15. Conor McHugh: Senior, U21 & Minor
Sub. Colm Basquel: U21 & Minor and Club
Sub. Gary Sweeney: U21
Sub. Robbie McDaid:  U21 & club
Sub. Killian O’Gara: Sigerson winner
Sub. Shane Cunningham: U21 & Minor
Sub. Gavin Ivory: U21

It does’t mean we can’t beat them, but when you hear that it is a weakened Dublin team this list might just make you rethink.

So who will we know?

And this is at a stretch.

Jason Whelan and Ciaran Reddin were on the squad for their All-Ireland win in 2013 and Conor McHugh in 2015.

Reddin is a red haired midfielder come centre back and is a fine player. He has been very unlucky not to make the breakthrough with Dublin in the past few season.

From Ballymun Kickhams Whelan is a half forward come midfielder very tall and range left footer. He was key to Ballymun’s run to the All-Ireland club final.

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 12.11.30

Speaking of Club All-Ireland’s Colm Basquel and Robbie McDaid ( pictured above) shone for Ballyboden a couple of years ago when they won it out. They beat the Pats along the way. Basquel scored a crucial goal against the Lordship men so they’ll have  both played in Drogheda before too.

And speaking of Club runs involving Louth teams Shane Boland and Eoin O’Brien played and was possibly marked by Liam Dullaghan and Conor Martin when the SOM played Castleknock in the Leinster winning campaign of 2014. Small GAA worlds eh?

Conor Men

Although it is a panel picked from players just outside last years All-Ireland winning one.
Dublin’s two corner forwards operating at a seriously high level.

Screen Shot 2017-01-24 at 12.05.45
Paul Hudson played against us in Drogheda in 2013 and bagged a goal and in the other corner is Conor McHugh, he really is top top class forward. He has led them to All-Irelands and Sigersons with DCU. The left both footer has also played against us before in Haggardstown scoring 4 points when DCU beat us.


UCD and DCU were in the group with Dublin initially.
Luckily we have Andy and Burnsey in both those camps, so they’ll know at first hand what we will face on Sunday  UCD and Andy actually beat the Dubs hopefully they’ll pass on that inside info to the lads.

Overall a Dublin 3rd team not too be dismissed and expectations to be reconsidered this will be tough but inside info in the squad will help.

Colin Kelly will also know a few from the U21 Leinster Final loss to Dublin in 2012 too. as many as 3 will be in the Dubs squad on Sunday we’ll have 4 can you name them?

Reeling in the GAA years tomorrow should be fun


Have you entered the competition yet??

??Facebook Competition Time??
Win Louth’s BRAND NEW Jersey go to and Enter!

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus

{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

louthandproud January 25, 2017 at 12:24 pm

GK Evan Comerford:Ballymun Kickhams
2. Jack Smith:Skerries Harps
3. Eoin O’Brien:Castleknock
4. Ross McGowan:Kilmacud Crokes
5. Niall Scully:Templeogue Synge St
6. Ciaran Reddin: St Maurs
7. Robbie Gaughan:Ballinteer St John’s
8. Jason Whelan:Ballymun Kickhams
9. Conor Mullally:Cuala
10. Ross Hazley:St Sylvester’s
11. Shane Boland:Castleknock
12. Niall Walsh:St Oliver Plunkett’s Eoghan Rua
13. Paul Hudson:Thomas Davis
14. Michael Deegan:Donaghmore Ashbourne (Meath)
15. Conor McHugh:Na Fianna
Sub. Colm Basquel:BallyBoden St Enda’s
Sub. Gary Sweeney: St Sylvester’s
Sub. Robbie McDaid:BallyBoden St Enda’s
Sub. Killian O’Gara:Templeogue Synge Street
Sub. Shane Cunningham:Kilmacud Crokes
Sub. Gavin Ivory:Raheny

Aidan Halpin January 25, 2017 at 8:32 am

What clubs do this Dublin team come from. Have you got the full squad + their clubs?

Previous post:

Next post: