Louth Longford OBC DRAW

by louthandproud on January 5, 2019

in County

Longford 1-16
Louth 1-16
By Dan Bannon

Brisk and finger numbing day in the midlands. Pearse Park was the venue for an extremely open game of pre season football.

Longford’s slick first half proved too much of a haul for Louth to win the game but Wayne Kierans men can be happy with the second half surge after the break which rescued a draw.

We bookended the opening half with two great openings Sam Mulroy rattled the crossbar while Ciaran Downey forced Paddy Collum into a save that would have warmed the digits up.

Despite the wastefulness Tadhg McEneaney gave Louth the lead. The hosts struck back with four in a row and marking their dominance on proceedings through Robbie Smith two Shane Donohoe and Peter Lynn.

Longford opened a four point lead 6-2 with Pauric Gill and Darren Gallgher free after Ciaran Downey found the range. The Blues man looked supremely sharp all afternoon.

Tadhg McEneaney then palmed to the net after some neat build up play from Jocks duo Sam Mulroy and Eoghan Callaghan. Mulroy got in behind along the endline and floated the ball across for the KIlkerley forward to leave one in it. 6 to 1-2.

Only five started the last day in the win against Wickla. Anthony Williams was on of the five and he marauded forward to level the game.

Longford responded with Doherty finding the range after his marker Donohoe slipped just before the ball came in. Darren Gallagher and Colm P Smyth came up from the back to notch three on the trot.

Ciaran Downey again handed us a lifeline with a fine score. McEneaney took a fine mark after lively Doherty added to his tally.

Doherty in the next attack full of confidence rounded Donohoe and unselfishly handpassed it across to winger Peter Lynn to find the net on the 28th minute.

Gallagher and Smith fired over before Decky clawed one back to make it 1-12 to 1-6 at HT. Louth much relieved to get in and compose themselves.

Composed themselves they did. Wayne Kierans made four changes. Conall McKeever was one of them and he found the range along with a Ronan Holcroft brace. chipping into the lead.

Intensity upped we dominated the opening quarter Decky added another to make it four in a row. Gallagher the big midfielder curled another free over 14 minutes into the half.

Decky inside was happier in his natural Mochtas habitat kicked over his third from play to make 1-13 to 1-11 but Louth well and truly on top.

Sam Mulroy free left the minimum in it and Longford

Jim turned his man with the use of his rear and found the range with the help of the post off his left.

1-13 to 1-13

Sam growing into the game by the minute scored an advanced mark to give us the lead just before the hour mark.

Robbie Smith then levelled with the midlanders second point of the half.

Jim fouled Quinn and received a black card soon after and Smith nailed the free as we played out the game with 14 men. Sub Ross Nally scored with his first touch to level.

Prolific Smith thought he had the final say dancing inside the Louth defence to score but Declan Byrne gave us the draw which was no good for us as Longford advance with two earlier competition wins.

PODCAST TOMORROW https://soundcloud.com/wearelouth


Louth Scorers:
Tadhg McEneaney 1-2 (1AM)
Declan Byrne 0-4
Ciaran Downey 0-2
Ronan Holcroft 0-2
Sam Mulroy 0-2 (1f,1AM)
Anthony Williams 0-1
Conall McKeever 0-1
Jim McEneaney 0-1
Ross Nally 0-1

Longford Scorers:
Robbie Smith 0-6 (3f)
Peter Lynn 1-1
Darren Gallagher 0-4 (2f)
Darragh Doherty 0-2
Shane Donohoe 0-1
Pauric Gill 0-1
Colm P Smith 0-1

Louth: Alan McGauley;
Fergal Donohoe, Darren Marks, James Craven;
Leonard Grey, Anthony Williams, Eoghan Callaghan;
Bevan Duffy, Tommy Durnin;
Ciaran Downey, Ronan Holcroft, Declan Byrne;
Niall Conlon, Sam Mulroy, Tadgh Mac.
Subs: John Clutterbuck for L Grey (18) C Early for E Callaghan (HT) Dan Corcoran for F Donohoe (HT) Conor Branagan for N Conlon (HT) C McKeever for T McEneaney (HT) Jim McEneaney for (43), Eoghan Duffy for C Downey (58), Ross Nally for S Mulroy (60).

Longford: Paddy Collum;
Darren Quinn, Barry O’Farrell,Colm P Smyth;
Conor Shields, Michael Quinn,Barry McKeon;
Darren Gallagher, Peter Hanley;
Peter Lynn, Andrew Farrell, Pauric Gill;
Shane Donohoe, Robbie Smyth, Darragh Doherty.
Subs: PJ Masterson for C Shields (56), Liam Connerton for P Gill (56) Cillian Lee for A Farrell (58).

Referee: Fergal Smyth (Offaly)

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: