by louthandproud on February 19, 2016

in School/College

DKIT play their Trench Cup Semi final today in the Belfast.


They beat Liverpool HOPE University 2-16 to 0-2
Here’s the preview


DKIT as you’d expect boast a lot of talented Louth footballers.

Three Current Louth senior squad members include Gea McSorley Dundalk Gaels, Conor Lenehan St Finbarrs and Ciaran Bellew Kilkerley.

As well as Terry Donegan Mattock Rangers, Emmet Kirk & Sean Brennan Brides, Dean Maguire and Jordan O’Donoghue DYI, Tadgh McEneaney Kilkerley, Cian Doyle and Robert Quigley from the O’Connells


Today’s opposition Liverpool HOPE have a Louth connection or two aswell…

The GAA club in the university was founded by a Louth man Garret Coyle from the Plunketts and now a Teacher in SEM the big GAA school St MacCartans in Monaghan town.

While on the sideline today, Davy McEntaggert from the Plunketts is selector for the scousers!

Who to look out for

For DKIT, Monaghan seniors Kieran Duffy and Daniel ‘Yankee’ McKenna are very talented players.

Geraldines will remember Yankee from their all-ireland club semi final versus Truagh. While Duffy is a strong and powerful regular for Monaghan for the past few seasons.

From HOPE, the British university champions have some nice players in their side but no senior inter county players.

Garvan Jones is a Fermanagh under21 Rory Sharvin in Midfield is a fine footballer, Joint captain Martin O’Hara at full back and his Glack clubmate Kieran McIntyre at centre back means they’ll be well organised at the back.

Stevie O’Connor is their best player and all of HOPE’s hopes will rest on his scoring shoulders


Under the tutelage of Shane Lennon and Oisin McConville the lads should be well prepared and no complacency should arise.

We should be looking forward to a Trench Cup final on Saturday against either WIT or Letterkenny IT

Squads in full


Joe O Donohue( Laragh Cavan)
John Smith (Seneschalstown Meath)
Jason Murphy (Toome Monaghan)
Conor Lenehan (Naomh Fionnbarra Louth)
Noel McIntyre (Kingscourt Cavan)
Kieran Duffy (Latton Monaghan )
Terry Donegan (Mattock Louth)
Ciaran Bellew (Kilkerley Louth)
Owen Coyle( Latton Monaghan)
Shane McElroy (Donaghmoyne Monaghan)
Donal Meegan (Inniskeen Monaghan )
Robbie Quigley( O’Connells Louth )
Dean Maguire (DYI Louth)
Daniel Yankee McKenna (Truagh Monaghan)
Taghd McEneaney (Kilkerley Louth )
Eddie Markey (Killanny MOnaghan)
Gea McSorley (Dundalk Gaels Louth)
Declan Flaherty (St Kevins Kildare)
Alan McCahey (Magheracloone)
Cian Doyle (O’Connells Louth )
Jordan O’Donoghue( DYI Louth)
Niall Kearns (Sean McDernotts Monaghan)
Aidan Reilly (Baileborough)
John Flood (Round Towers Lusk)
Sean Brennan (St Brides)

Liverpool Hope Trench Cup Squad

Starting team
Conleth Mc Geary Edendork Tyrone
Martin O’Hara Gort Na Mona Antrim
Ciaran O’Brien Glack Derry
Callum Mahoney Saul Down
Conor Mc Evoy St Johns Antrim
Kieran McIntyre Glack Derry
Chris Regan Liatroim Down
Matthew Hollywood Bredagh Down
Rory Sharvin Kilclief Down
Conor Boyle John Bosco Down
Garvan Jones Derrygonnelly Fermanagh
Conleth Mc Caughan Ballycastle Antrim
Stevie O’Connor St Endas Antrim
Gearoid Mc Dermott Sean Dolans Derry
Aidan Mc Cartan Bryansford Down
Cathal Meegan Eskra Tyrone
Eoin Coyle Cookstown Tyrone
Davey Blaney Dundrum Down
Peter Herron Fianna Tyrone
Seamus Rafferty Belcoo Fermanagh
Barry McKernan Dungannon Tyrone
Eunan Coleman Carrickmore Tyrone
Piaras Mc Elduff Omagh Tyrone
Karl McCallion Bellaghy Derry
Fiontan Eastwood St Endas Antrim
Cathal Sloan Saul Down
Stephen McMahon Saul Down
Matthew Megoran Wolfetones Armagh
Christopher Nugent Errigal Ciaran Tyrone
Ciaran Mc Grady Saul Down
Ciaran Doolin Wolfe Tones Lancashire

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Google Plus

{ 0 comments… add one now }

Previous post:

Next post: